March 19, 2012

The Board will meet in the HAYWOOD COUNTY COURTROOM
of the HISTORIC COURTHOUSE at 215 N. Main Street, Waynesville
beginning at 5:30 p.m.
Citizens must sign up for public comment prior to 5:20 p.m. and are limited
to three (3) minutes. Audience members may not address the Board at any time
during deliberations unless recognized by the Chairman.

I.          Call to Order – Chairman Mark S. Swanger

II.         Pledge of Allegiance

III.       Public Hearing for the purpose of receiving public input on the new Community Development Block Grant Scattered Site Housing Program and Application – David Teague, Grants Coordinator – ATTACHMENT 1

IV.       Public Comment Session          

V.        Constituent Concerns

VI.       Discussion / Adjustment / Approval of Consent Agenda

VII.      Consent Agenda

1. Approve March 5, 2012 regular meeting minutes

2. Approve February 2012 – Refunds, Releases, Amendments and Discoveries – David Francis, Tax Administrator – ATTACHMENT 2

3. Budget Amendments:

a. Health – Environmental Health - $312 – Lead poisoning prevention and education funding- ATTACHMENT 3

b. Animal Services - $1,900 – donations to cover training and temporary help expenses – ATTACHMENT 4

c. Social Services - $184,677 – additional Crisis Intervention Program funding – ATTACHMENT 5

d. General Fund - $100,000 – fuel – increase across departments, from contingency – ATTACHMENT 6

e. General Fund – various departments - $148,485 from increased sales tax revenues – ATTACHMENT 7

f. C/P Fund - $764 – Revenue/Expense increase to close out project. Funds already in project – ATTACHMENT 8

VIII.     New Business

1. Request approval of revised Memorandum of Understanding between the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service and the NC Department of Agriculture Consumer Services – Division of Soil and Water Conservation and the Haywood County Soil and Water Conservation District and Haywood County – Carlyle Ferguson, Chairman, Haywood Soil and Water Conservation District – ATTACHMENT 9

2. Request approval of Joint Resolution of the Town of Clyde and Haywood County for Flood Ordinance Administration – Kris Boyd, Planning Director – ATTACHMENT 10

3. Property Tax Commission Appeal – David Francis, Tax Administrator – ATTACHMENT 11

4. Request approval of Revised Haywood County Flood Properties Policy for Use and Maintenance – Claire Carleton, Director, Recreation and Parks – ATTACHMENT 12

a. Request approval for one new buyout lease request – Claire Carleton – ATTACHMENT 13

b. Request approval for two buffer lease requests – Claire Carleton – ATTACHMENT 14 - Lease 1 and Lease 2

5. Request approval of revised contract for signage project from Blue Ridge National Heritage Area – Angie Chandler, Executive Director Blue Ridge National Heritage Area – ATTACHMENT 15

6. Request appointment of extraterritorial jurisdiction (ETJ) representative to Maggie Valley Planning Board – Marty Stamey, County Manager - ATTACHMENT 16

IX.       Closed Session

Attorney/Client Privilege – G.S.§143-318.11(a)(3)

X.        Adjournment