Board elects new chairman, vice chairman Print

The Haywood County Board of Commissioners seated a new member and elected a new chairman and vice chairman during an organizational meeting held Monday, Dec. 6th.

New member Michael T. Sorrells, who was elected in November, received the Oath of Office from Clerk of Court June Ray, as did re-elected board members Kirk Kirkpatrick and Bill Upton. The new board then unanimously selected Mark S. Swanger to serve as Chairman and Kirkpatrick to serve as Vice Chairman.

In other business, the board approved a meeting and holiday schedule for 2011, and commissioner assignments to several  boards and committees. In addition, Oaths of Office were administered Swanger and Upton, as well as to Register of Deeds Sherri Rogers and Tax Collector David Francis.

Following is more information on the Board of Commissioners and the 2011 meeting schedule: