County begins new Sustainability effort Print
News - Latest

Since Summer 2008, representatives from several departments of Haywood County Government have been meeting to share information and exchange ideas on how county government could reduce the amount of waste that goes into the White Oak Landfill each year. Our first goal has been to take a close look at our own internal operations and develop strategies for reducing waste, and reusing and recycling as many materials as possible. Another goal is to engage the citizens of Haywood County in an ongoing dialogue about how we as a community can commit ourselves to reducing, reusing and recycling.

On January 20, the Board of County Commissioners adopted a Sustainability Plan, which will serve as a guide for our waste reduction efforts during 2009. We plan to update and improve this plan on a regular basis and we encourage you to share your ideas, raise questions and share success stories on your own efforts to reduce, reuse and recycle.

Thanks to the members of the Sustainability Committee for their efforts in helping us craft this plan! The members include: Mark Shumpert, County Engineer and Sustainability Committee Chairman; Stephen King, Solid Waste Director; David Cotton, County Manager; Marty Stamey, Assistant County Manager; David Francis, Tax Administrator; Matthew Hamlett, Lulu Ray, and Heidi Vandine, Sheriff's Office; Misty Carver, Department of Social Services; Diana Manee, Health Department; Susan Layton, Human Resources Director; Donna Woodruff, Finance Office; Jean Burton, Extension Service; Gail Heathman, Soil & Water Conservation; Sandra Fortune and Charlene Miller, Tax Collections; Kristy Wood, Technology and Communications Director; and David Teague, Public Information Officer.

To make comments on or ask questions about the county's Sustainability Plan, please contact Mark Shumpert, County Engineer, phone: 828-356-2114; or email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ; or Stephen King, Solid Waste Director, phone: 828-627-8042; or email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .