Did You Know:

Canton was originally Cherokee Indian Territory. A post office first opened here in 1837 and the community at the time was named Pigeon River.
BOCC Minutes 10-07-08 Print
Board of Commissioners - Minutes

SPECIAL MEETING – October 7, 2008


Chairman Larry R. Ammons convened the regular meeting of the Haywood County Board of Commissioners at 4:00 p.m. in the County Commissioners’ Meeting Room at the Haywood County Justice Center, Waynesville, North Carolina, with Chairman Larry R. Ammons, Vice-Chairman J.W. “Kirk” Kirkpatrick, III, Commissioners Mary Ann Enloe and Bill Upton present. Staff members present were County Manager David B. Cotton, Assistant County Manager Marty Stamey, Public Information Officer David Teague, Finance Director Julie Davis, and Administrative Assistant Rebecca Morgan.

Members absent: Commissioner Charles “Skeeter” Curtis


Chairman Ammons led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Commissioner Upton offered the invocation.


Chairman Ammons opened the public comment session. Comments are generally limited to three minutes per individual, unless the speaker is representing a group for which the comment period may be extended to five minutes. Being no comment, Chairman Ammons closed the public comment section.


Chairman Ammons inquired if the Board of County Commissioners had any constituent concerns. There were no constituent concerns.


Vice-Chairman Kirkpatrick made a motion to enter into closed session for the purpose of Potential Litigation – G.S. §143-318.11(a)(3). Commissioner Upton and the motion carried unanimously.

Return from Closed Session

The Board returned from closed session.


Historic Courthouse Renovation

Chad Roberson, Architect PBC+L, gave a PowerPoint presentation and presented six proposal requests (change orders). Mr. Roberson explained proposal requests 13 (slope), 14 (floor levels), 15 (4th and 5th floor windows), 16 (audio and visual work – courtroom), and 17 (courtroom plaster work), and SK27.

Commissioner Upton made a motion to approve request 13, in the amount of $27,882.87, 14, in the amount of $70,184.75, 15, in the amount of $4,708.08, 16, in the amount of $8,750.91, and 17, in the amount of $39,032.32 and SK27 in the amount of $7,811.87. Commissioner Enloe seconded and the motion carried unanimously.

Commissioner Enloe, in an effort to better inform the citizens of Haywood County, requested the number of departments that will return to the historic courthouse once the renovation is completed. David Cotton, County Manager, stated the departments returning to the historic courthouse are the Tax Assessor, Tax Collector, Tax Appraisers, GIS, IT, Register of Deeds, Administration, Finance, Human Resources and Veterans Affairs. Mr. Cotton stated that all floors in the historic courthouse will be handicapped accessible with elevators in the front and rear of the building.

Julie Davis, Finance Director, presented a project budget amendment in order to place the change orders into the construction line item. Funding for the proposal requests (change orders) will come from the contingency and interest earned from within the project budget.

Commissioner Upton made a motion to approve with the modifications, the budget amendment to the Capital Project Fund. Vice-Chairman  Kirkpatrick seconded and the motion carried unanimously.

Closing Comments

David Cotton, County Manager, explained that there are several topics to be discussed during an upcoming work session. Items for discussion include the formation of a mental health service authority under G.S. §160a, and the County’s budget in light of recent State cuts and the current state of the economy. Also, because of the growth of Haywood County Television (HCTV), Mr. Cotton expressed that he would like to present for consideration proposed guidelines for nonprofit organizations to use the government channel. After discussion the Board agreed to conduct a work session on October 21st, 2008, at 4:00 pm, at the Administrative Offices.


Commissioner Upton made a motion to adjourn. Commissioner Enloe seconded and the motion carried unanimously. The time of adjournment was 4:50 pm. The DVD is attached by reference to the minutes.


David B. Cotton          Larry Ammons    
CLERK                       CHAIRMAN