County Commissioners Agenda 08-18-08 Print
Board of Commissioners - Agendas



August 18, 2008


The Board will meet in the COUNTY COMMISSIONERS’ MEETING ROOM #3451

of the HAYWOOD COUNTY JUSTICE CENTER at 285 N. Main Street, Waynesville

beginning at 5:00 p.m.


Citizens must sign up for public comment prior to 4:50 p.m. and are limited

to three (3) minutes.  Audience members may not address the Board at any time

during deliberations unless recognized by the Chairman.


            I.          Call to Order – Chairman Larry Ammons


            II.         Pledge of Allegiance


            III.       Public Hearing

    1. Amendments to Subdivision and Pre-Development Ordinance – Kris Boyd, Planning Director - ATTACHMENT 1
    2. Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Scattered Site Grant – Tony Sexton, Hurricane Recovery Director

            IV.  Call to a Public Hearing

Haywood County Transit Grant – Susan Anderson, Haywood County Transit Director           

            V.    Haywood Regional Medical Center (HRMC) Update – HRMC Representative


            VI.   Public Comment Session


            VII. Constituent Concerns   


            VIII.     Discussion / Adjustment / Approval of Consent Agenda


            IX.       Consent Agenda

    1. Approve Minutes of August 4th, 2008 Regular Meeting
    2. July 2008 Refunds, Releases, Discoveries and Amendments – Judy Ballard, Tax Assessor ATTACHMENT 2
    3. Smart Start Contract – Carmine Rocco, Health Director – ATTACHMENT 3
    4. Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) Between Haywood County and Haywood Advancement Foundation

      A. Presentation– Mark Clasby, Economic Development Director – ATTACHMENT 4

      B. Capital Project Ordinance – Economic Development – land development at Beaverdam Industrial Park - $690,836 –Julie Davis, Finance Director - ATTACHMENT 5
      C. Mass Grading Project Beaverdam Industrial Park – Bids – Mark Clasby - ATTACHMENT 6
    5. Budget Amendments – Julie Davis
      Fiscal Year 2007-2008: General Fund – end of year amendments – ATTACHMENT 7

            X.        Administrative Agency Report

                        Tourism Development Authority (TDA) Update – Scotty Ellis, TDA Executive Director - ATTACHMENT 8


            XI.       Old Business

1. Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Demolition – Tony Sexton, Hurricane Recovery Coordinator – ATTACHMENT 9

2. Solid Waste Availability Fee Proposed Revision – David Francis and Stephen King, Solid Waste Director – ATTACHMENT 10

3. Board of Commissioners – Committee and Board Attendance – David Cotton - ATTACHMENT 11

            XII.      New Business

1. Request Waiver of Tipping Fees – Celesa Willett, Executive Director, United Way of Haywood County – ATTACHMENT 12

2. Certification Standards for 2008-2009 – Juvenile Crime Prevention Council (JCPC), Torrie Murphy, JCPC Chair – ATTACHMENT 13

3. Family Safety Challenge Awards Program – David Teague, Public Information Officer - ATTACHMENT 14

4. Board Appointments – David Cotton, County Manager

A. Haywood County Planning Board – ATTACHMENT 15

B. Haywood Greenway Advisory Council At-Large Appointment - ATTACHMENT 16

            XIII.     Closed Session

  Closed Session Minutes – Approval and / or Release Minutes – G.S. 143-318.11(a)(1)

  Potential Litigation – G.S. §143-318.11(a)(3)


            XIV.    Adjournment