Home Departments Board of Elections Redistricting Changes for 2012

2012 Redistricting Changes

With election season gearing up, the Haywood County Board of Elections has been busy implementing updated NC House of Representatives and NC Senate maps approved by the state legislature in 2011. Following is a summary of those changes, along with maps. As part of the redistricting process the State Board of Elections provided the most current precinct boundary information, only voters that were affected by a precinct change were issued a new voter registration card. Most Haywood County voters will be in a new district for 2012 elections:

  • All Haywood County Voters remain in US Congressional District 11 - (See County and State maps)
  • All Haywood County Voters are now in NC Senate District 50 - (See County and State maps)
  • Voters in the following precincts are in NC House of Representatives District 118:
    Beaverdam 1, Beaverdam 2, Beaverdam 3, Beaverdam 4, Beaverdam 5/6, Beaverdam 7, Big Creek, Cecil, Clyde North, Clyde South, Crabtree, East Fork, Fines Creek 1, Fines Creek 2, Jonathan Creek, Pigeon, Pigeon Center and White Oak. (See below for Ivy Hill.)
  • Voters in the following precincts are in NC House of Representatives District 119:
    Allens Creek, Lake Junaluska, Hazelwood, Iron Duff, Saunook, Center Waynesville, East Waynesville, Waynesville South 1, Waynesville South 2, West Waynesville. (See below for Ivy Hill.)
  • Ivy Hill is split by NC House of Representatives Districts 118 and 119. The majority of the precinct including most of the Town of Maggie Valley (excluding some of the satellite annexations on Dellwood Rd. and Jonathan Creek Rd.) is in District 118. District 119 includes parts of Campbell Woods Estates, south side of Dellwood Rd., and Ivy Hill Subdivision.
    - (See County and State maps)

Voters who wish to check what district they are in may do so on line by going to www.ncsbe.gov and going to the “My Elections Information” link or by calling the Haywood County Board of Elections at 828-452-6633.