Home Departments Public Information Commissioners Agenda for Dec. 19



December 19, 2011

The Board will meet in the HAYWOOD COUNTY COURTROOM
of the HISTORIC COURTHOUSE at 215 N. Main Street, Waynesville
beginning at 5:30 p.m.
Citizens must sign up for public comment prior to 5:20 p.m. and are limited
to three (3) minutes. Audience members may not address the Board at any time
during deliberations unless recognized by the Chairman.

I.          Call to Order – Chairman Mark S. Swanger

II.         Pledge of Allegiance

III.       Public Hearing for the expenditure of Secondary Road Construction Funds for Haywood County – Conrad Burrell, North Carolina Department of Transportation Board Member, Division 14 and Joel Setzer, NC Department of Transportation Division Engineer – ATTACHMENT 1

IV.       Call to Public Hearing for revised Flood Hazard Development Ordinance, new flood maps and flood insurance study – Kris Boyd, Planning Director – ATTACHMENT 2

V.        Public Comment Session

VI.      Constituent Concerns

VII.      Discussion / Adjustment / Approval of Consent Agenda

VIII.     Consent Agenda

1. Approve December 5, 2011 regular meeting minutes

2. Approve November 2011 Refunds, Releases, Amendments and Discoveries - David Francis, Tax Administrator – ATTACHMENT 3

3. Budget Amendments:

a. Animal Control - $32,000 – grant for spay/neuter program from NC Spay/Neuter funds – Julie Davis, Finance Director – ATTACHMENT 4
b. Health Department – $275,963 – consolidation of Medicaid into General Health programs for reporting – Julie Davis – ATTACHMENT 5

IX.       New Business

1. Francis Farm Landfill – Phase 3B Landfill Gas Collection and Combustion System recommendation for the utility interconnection switchgear – Mark Cathey, PE, Senior Project Manager, McGill Associates, P.A. – ATTACHMENT 6

2. Clarification of County Commission Minutes dates March 3, 2008 regarding the makeup of the Haywood County Tourism Development Authority (TDA) 1% Zip Code Subcommittees – Lynn Collins, TDA Executive Director – ATTACHMENT 7

3. Appointment of TDA Board Members and 1% Zip Code Subcommittees – Lynn Collins – ATTACHMENT 8

4. Resolution - Mutual Assistance with other Law Enforcement Agencies – Sheriff Bobby Suttles – ATTACHMENT 9

5. Request to hire custodians for new DSS/Health/Building & Environmental Services facility – Dale Burris, Facilities and Maintenance Director – ATTACHMENT 10

6. Approval of Annual Buyout - Property Lease Agreements – Claire Carleton, Recreation Director – ATTACHMENT 11

7. Haywood County Library – E-Rate funding for library expenditures – Budget Amendment - $27,879 –Library temporary salaries, equipment – Julie Davis and Sharon Woodrow, Library Director – ATTACHMENT 12

X.        Closed Session – Attorney/Client Privilege – G.S.§143-318.11(a)(3)

XI.       Adjournment