March 7, 2011



The Board will meet in the HAYWOOD COUNTY COURTROOM

of the HISTORIC COURTHOUSE at 215 N. Main Street, Waynesville

beginning at 9:00 a.m.



Citizens must sign up for public comment prior to 8:50 a.m. and are limited

to three (3) minutes.  Audience members may not address the Board at any time

during deliberations unless recognized by the Chairman.




I.          Call to Order – Chairman Mark S. Swanger


II.         Pledge of Allegiance


III.       Public Comment Session


IV.       Constituent Concerns   


V.        Discussion / Adjustment / Approval of Consent Agenda


VI.       Consent Agenda

  1. Approve February 21st, 2011 regular meeting minutes
  2. Resolution Appointing Board of Equalization and Review – David Francis, Tax Administrator – ATTACHMENT 1
  3. Budget Amendments – Julie Davis,  Finance Director
    a. DSS - $18,400-grant funding from the Evergreen Foundation for training and consultant services – ATTACHMENT 2
    b. Solid Waste special revenue fund - $17,242 state grant award for $21,553 project. County match required $4,311 from recycling budget  – ATTACHMENT 3

VII.      Old Business

  1. Fairgrounds Financing / Construction Bidding Options – Julie Davis, Finance Director and Dale Burris, Facilities and Maintenance Director – ATTACHMENT 4
  2. Nursing Home Advisory Committee Board Member – Marty Stamey - ATTACHMENT 5

VIII.     New Business

  1. Criminal Justice Partnership Program (CJPP) Advisory Board Members – Anita Pruett, CJPP Director – ATTACHMENT 6
  2. Petition to extend Russell Cove Road – Nina Messer – ATTACHMENT 7
  3. Claims Administration Management for Jail Inmates – Sheriff Bobby Suttles and Captain David Mitchell – ATTACHMENT 8
  4. Contract Agreement for Pregnancy Medical Home-Pregnancy Case Management (PMH-PCM) and Care Coordination for Children Program (CC4C) Transition / Division of Public Health – Carmine Rocco, Health Director – ATTACHMENT 9
  5. Budget amendment – Health Dept. – Family Planning – $8,321– additional Title X funds – Julie Davis,  Finance Director – ATTACHMENT 10
  6. Resolution in Support of the Mountain Research Station – Commissioner Sorrells - ATTACHMENT 11
  7. Resolution in Support of Golden Leaf – Commissioner Sorrells – ATTACHMENT 12

IX.       Adjournment